Warcraft Legacy Starcraft Legacy BlizzForums
The Future?

Go Back   BlizzForums > Games > StarCraft Discussion

StarCraft Discussion StarCraft & Brood War lie herein.

Old 01-18-2009

United States Crazy_Jonny
I'm Game...
 Crazy_Jonny is a name known to allCrazy_Jonny is a name known to allCrazy_Jonny is a name known to allCrazy_Jonny is a name known to allCrazy_Jonny is a name known to allCrazy_Jonny is a name known to allCrazy_Jonny is a name known to allCrazy_Jonny is a name known to allCrazy_Jonny is a name known to allCrazy_Jonny is a name known to allCrazy_Jonny is a name known to all
Default My fix for the gas mechanic...

Personally, Im not a pro-gamer, and couldn’t care if SC2 was a tad easier than Broodwar, but I would like to see the game succeed, and surpass the original. So, here’s my fix for the gas mechanic.

(Option 1) – Conversion (Minerals-> Gas)

It’s a simple concept, and becomes available in tier 2 for each race. Each refinery/extractor/assimilator would get some kind of upgraded version in tier 2, and it allows for converting mineralds into gas (for every 25 minerals = 15 gas); or visa versa.

For the terrans, the refinery would get an addon, and the addon would allow for conversion.
For the Zerg, the extractor mutates into an upgrade.
For the Protoss, you would simply be able to do this at the assimilator after acquiring a cybernetics core.

(Option 2a) – ByProduct (Refinery Resource)

This idea is more complicated than the first, and ultimately can turn SC2 into a more macro focused game.

Basically, byproduct is another resource, but it wouldn’t be used for production. The only thing Byproduct could be ‘spent’ on, are other upgrades for gathering resources.

How do you gather it?